What support really achieves

As a number of readers know, I’m in the middle of training for a slightly mad event: a charity cycle ride that will see me and my teammates try to get from London, England to Paris on our road bikes in just 24 hours. (That’s 280 miles, or about 450km. Yikes!) As part of the build-up to that event I’m writing some guest posts for Sam Brennan and Tracy Isaacs at Fit, Feminist, and Almost Fifty; click here to read my first one.

I’m passing this post in particular along because it’s relevant to teaching and learning; in fact, it features me thinking from the perspective of a student about what support from a teacher or mentor means (or can mean) in practice. In most areas of my life I teach, or occupy a sharing role (as a partner, for example); I’m not often anymore in the position of the novice learner. But as a cyclist – and especially as a serious road cyclist – I am very much still learning. So, as I prepare for London to Paris, I’ve got my student’s cap on. It’s a useful shift in perspective – one I really recommend to all the teachers out there!

Enjoy,

Kim

 

This entry was posted in Inspiring teachings by Kim Solga. Bookmark the permalink.

About Kim Solga

I am a university professor currently based in Hamilton, Ontario. I teach theatre and performance studies at Western University; previously, I was Senior Lecturer in Drama at Queen Mary, University of London. On Wordpress, my teaching blog is The Activist Classroom; I'm also a regular contributor to the popular blog, Fit is a Feminist Issue.

Leave a Reply

