On getting “chicked” – and why strong female cyclists need to have sympathy for the guys (Guest post)

Sam Brennan (from Fit is a Feminist Issue) and I have traded guest posts this week. Here’s mine – a reflection on gender experiences during my recent cycling trip to Tuscany. Enjoy!

FIT IS A FEMINIST ISSUE

Team Tuscany: ready for the big final day! Team Tuscany: ready for the big final day!

It’s been almost a year since I guest-blogged in this space about my experience preparing for and riding Scope’s London-to-Paris-in-24-hours challenge, and a lot has happened in that time. I’ve become a stronger, more focused road cyclist. I’ve engaged a terrific female cycling coach, Jo McCrae, and she’s helped me to train my tempo zone and grow my climbing capacity. I’ve chalked up some serious personal bests, achieving a current PB of 7 minutes 51 seconds on Box Hill, the famous climb in the middle of the London 2012 Olympic road races. I knocked 24 minutes off my 2013 time in this year’s early-season “Puncheur” sportif in East Sussex, placing 6th out of 30 female riders. And just last weekend I kicked some serious ass on a cycling holiday in Tuscany.

Some of you may remember that, as part of…

View original post 1,514 more words

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by Kim Solga. Bookmark the permalink.

About Kim Solga

I am a university professor currently based in Hamilton, Ontario. I teach theatre and performance studies at Western University; previously, I was Senior Lecturer in Drama at Queen Mary, University of London. On Wordpress, my teaching blog is The Activist Classroom; I'm also a regular contributor to the popular blog, Fit is a Feminist Issue.

Leave a Reply

